Bookworm’s Digest Jr.

Heather S.

Hello students! Searching for a new read? Look no further! Bookworm’s Digest Jr. is a series of articles based on fantasy and adventure books fit for middle school readers, like you! So join us as we give you another star-studded suggestion- The Grishaverse Saga by Leigh Bardugo including Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, Ruin and Rising, Six of Crows, Crooked Kingdom, and King of Scars!


In this fantasy world, there are many different countries, just like our own, but each nation is divided by something deeper than the landscape- prejudice. Poverty and war and other mundane dilemmas of today are featured in this book, but Bardugo puts a fantastical spin on it by including people who can manipulate the objects around them in a magical way that normal humans can’t. These people are called Grisha.


Each country has its own views on how these people should be treated; some of the main ones being Ravka with their belief that Grisha should be either revered or treated as equals to the normal humans, Ketterdam with its history of selling Grisha into hard labor, and the fearsome Fjerda with its deep hatred for these ‘witches’.


In the first three books (Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, Ruin and Rising), The main character, Alina Starkov, finds out that she is a Grisha who can summon light- a power that only she possesses. Together she unites forces with The Darkling, the only Grisha who can summon darkness. But will this alliance weather the storm of human greed? Read to find out! 


In the next two books (Six of Crows, Crooked Kingdom), a new cast of characters is introduced- four humans and two Grisha. Together they make up a ragtag bunch of dangerous outcasts who quest to break a Grisha prisoner from a Fjerdan prison for a large sum of money. This tale of heartfelt friendship and twisted morals is a must-read complete with drama and romance.


Finally, to wrap up both series and make each story one, the most recent book in the Grishaverse Saga is called King of Scars. This book made me feel a rush of emotions, both good and bad, and I simply wasn’t able to put this book down. 


Coming 2020 to Netflix is the Shadow and Bone TV series, where they just wrapped up casting and are now starting to film! This will include both of the stories in the Grishaverse Saga, and Bardugo is being included in much of the casting and directing, so the plotline of the show will align with that of the series. 


Question and Answer with a WMS Reader!


Interviewer: How did you feel about this book? Was it entertaining?


Reader: I loved the book! It was extremely entertaining and I loved the plot.


I: Would you reread this book on your own terms?


R: Yes, I would. In fact, I have!


I: Would you recommend this book to your fellow classmates or anyone looking for a good read?


R: I’d recommend these books to anyone who enjoys fantasy fiction with realistic elements.

I hope this book review helped you find a great read. After all, if you choose to read this book, you’ll feel as if you are living lavishly with mystical powers right alongside the Ravkan Grisha! Catch other reviews like this one on other articles from Bookworm’s Digest Jr. Happy reading!